What are Chakras?

Chakras are the concentrated energy centers of the body.  The word Chakra originates from the Sanskrit term and it means “wheel” or “disk” and is derived from the root word “cakra”. Chakras are spinning wheels of energy/light. Chakras have the loving responsibility of taking in, incorporating and emanating energy to keep us functioning at optimal levels.

There are 7 main Chakras outside the body when one is out of balance or not functioning properly, we will have illness and our wellbeing on all levels can be affected.  If we remember chakras as energy, then if there is enough energy we will feel supported and in the flow.   If there is a lack of energy we will feel tired, more irritable and if our bodies are not nourished and cared for with proper exercise and food.  It's important to do not nourish our bodies with the proper food and nutrients, so we may expand the energy and flow our bodies need to function at it's best.   If we “block” feelings such as anger, etc., or do not speak our truth, we may be unconsciously impeding our healthy energy flow. Clearing out the clutter in our lives, physically and emotionally, helps to strengthen the flow of our energy. Forgiveness greatly enhances our energetic health. Meditation helps to strengthen the body’s energetic flow to bring back balance and create homeostasis - rest, digest and restore. 

Below is a list of the chakras with descriptions.  How do you know which one needs to be re-balanced? By reading the descriptions, one might (or a few) might resonate, but also by listening to your body. If you constantly have a sore throat - then it's your throat chakra that needs to support or if you are trying to get pregnant, sacral chakra would be your focus, if you have heartbreak, then the heart chakra and so on.  

7 Chakras and what they present: 

Image result for image of 7 chakras

Root Chakra: Basic Trust, Security

Earth Element, focus on being grounded.  Any activities that involve the feet on the ground such as dancing, jogging or walking are beneficial. We should see if our security needs are being met, and take our power to create our own security in our lives so that our world is a safe and enjoyable place for us

Sacral Chakra: Creativity and Sexuality

Water Element, creativity, sensuality, sexuality, and desire for pleasure.  Activities such as belly dancing, loving partnerships, and yoga can enhance the function of this chakra. 

Solar Plexus Chakra: Wisdom & Power

Fire Element, 'fire in your belly', drive to keep you going.  This is your body's core, keeping it strong enhances and promotes your self-worth, power and being able to accomplish your dreams. 

Heart Chakra: Love & Healing

Air Element, love and compassion.  Being able to give and receive love and appreciation of beauty and nature enhance the health of this chakra. T

Throat Chakra: Communication

The throat is your communication center, where you speak your truth in this The Ability to ask for what you need,  singing, chanting and breathing exercises can enhance the health of this chakra.

Third Eye Chakra: Awareness

Insight, intuition, awareness, and guidance are the properties of this sixth chakra. Meditation and visualization exercises can assist the healthy flow of this chakra. 

Crown Chakra: Spirituality 

Spiritual connection. This chakra is located a little above the top of the head and represents bliss, knowledge of being at one with all.  Staying connected to your higher self keep this chakra healthy and balanced.